The MisfitWisdom Picture Challenge….I Think.

Nah....not this time kitty

Nah….not this time kitty

Ritu of the blog “But I Smile Anyway” issued a challenge to bloggers to post photos and tell a story about each photo. So, thinking of that challenge, I decided to post a bunch of photos, or stuff, and perhaps tell a story. It’s the least I can do for a fellow blogger. Um, do ya call a woman (Ritu) a “fellow” blogger. After all, she IS a woman. Beats me.

To begin with, all of us take photos. Then throw them in a drawer or box  somewhere where they sit for eons, until someone visits and we want to bore the hell outta them. I’m no exception. So, consider this boring the hell outta you. Thanks Ritu.

Let us begin with my young and (cough) innocent years at my first radio job as a DJ in Providence, Rhode Island in 1963. Yes kiddies, the object with the big knobs is called a mixer board which controlled everything. Look Ma, no touch screens!!!

mmmmm

WTF you lookin’ at!

Yes, that was the beginning of my radio broadcasting career. BUT….what goes up, must come down, so I’ll skip the in-betweens of allllll the other radio stations I worked at and fast forward to when I got to the “top of the heap” “King of the hill,” (lyrics courtesy of Frank Sinatra’s “New York, New York”) The year was 1969, and the station WPRO-AM Providence, Rhode Island.

WTF you lookin' at again!!!

WTF you lookin’ at again!!!

Soooo, after that it was downhill in broadcasting until I said “f**k it” and hung up my voice and microphone for good in 1988. If ya count the year I spent in the Army also doing radio, and some Mickey Mouse stuff part-time it totals close to 30 years.

One last one for good measure. Heilbronn, Germany 1959

One last one for good measure. Heilbronn, Germany 1959

Today, all ya have to be to be a bona-fide disc jockey is………have a computer. No great sounding voice required.

Today, people always say to me, “Hey, you still got a great radio voice, how come you’re not doing that stuff?”

To which I reply, “Having a good voice doesn’t matter. It’s who ya know bunko.” You know, “connections.” Of which I have none. Unless ya count my friends Bobby and Tom, and THEIR connections are even worse than mine….which means zippo.

OK, enough of the whining………um….was I whining?

OK....OK....I was whinning

OK….OK….I was whinning

BUT…..I did get this great coffee mug from “Autocrat Coffee”………

"Dick Jones" (circia 1963) AKA....MisfitWisdom

“Dick Jones” (circia 1963) AKA….MisfitWisdom

Might be worth, um, say……..a few thousand bucks on eBay. Ya think?

Er…..maybeeeeee not. DAMN!

OK……back to pictures again.  Maybe something weird. Like how about a pic of my favorite coffee mug.

aMMMM

Makes sense to me……….

Always being short for my entire life, for some odd reason I always seemed to have very tall friends. For instance, Willie Loco Alexander who was my best friend back in my teenage years. He went on to become a recording artist while I went on to play recording artist’s records as a DJ. Go figure.

Willi & I back in the 80's in Mass. (I'm the short guy)

Willie & I back in 1980 AD in Mass. (I’m the short guy)

 

mmmm

Willie far left

Soooooo, what do ya do when you have a lot of talent, a good radio voice, but are surrounded by idiots in the broadcasting industry who always try to bring you down? Ya get outta the business and find something else to do. Like become a sales rep. for some record distribution companies. Which is what I did. AND……my favorite memory of that time, the paste-up card I did for the record company mocking the album “Grease” substituting my pic for John Travolta’s.

mmmmmm

Ya gotta admit, I got it all over John……. Olivia honeeeee

And when that ended I foolishly went back on the air at a Connecticut station and STILL managed to piss people off by doing an interview with a topless donut shop in Florida. YES…..ya can’t see nudity on the radio folks, but explain THAT to the idiots that fired my butt.

Actually it was a sponsor’s wife that called into station management and complained that nudity was not appropriate. And you know sponsors and sponsors wives mean $$$$$$ and that was that.sponsors1

Of course I documented all this crap in my non best-selling autobiography “I Could Have Been Famous But Sex, Love and Life Got In The Way.”

mmmm

Had to get things off my chest

Rather than continue to bore the freakin’ hell outta you, I’ll fast forward by saying that today I am perfectly content knowing that although my radio career was sidelined by egotistical and jealous minded individuals, I now write these stupid blogs, (along with three books to my credit) with no flack from idiots.

And………………….

mmmmm

Ya think?

Just sayin.’

Thanks for the challenge Ritu. : )

DONATE & SUPPORT: Um….neverrrrrr mind……nobody ever donates. (sigh)

BUT….jusssssssssssssst in case: PayPal.me/misfitwisdom

Copyright 2015 MisfitWisdom RLV

DILLIGARA Header: chickart@cox.net

 

 

About misfit120

Former disc jockey, (Dick Jones) 30 years, and author of, "I Could Have Been Famous But Sex, Love & Life Got In The Way" available at Amazon.com books, & Kindle, "The Covert Chamber" a mystery novel available at Amazon.com and Barnes & Noble, and "Forgotten" the story of two WWI pilots who were forgotten for over 70 years available on Amazon.com and Kindle
This entry was posted in current events humor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The MisfitWisdom Picture Challenge….I Think.

  1. katydidknot says:

    This was a good one and makes me want to read the book.

    The “nudity on the radio” thing is hilarious.

  2. misfit120 says:

    Thanks Katy. That nudity on the radio thing is one of the stories I always pass on to people who ask me why I got out of radio. Surrounded by idiots and controlled by sponsors. But if you look at today’s radio content, anything goes. I guess I was ahead of
    my time. As always. I figure, (if I’m still ahead of my time now) all my blogs will be in the Smithsonian someday for creative effort. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

