Yogi-isms Remembering Yogi Berra 5-12-1925 – 9-22-2015

yogi1

Yogi Berra, the iconic New York Yankees catcher for many years passed away this past Tuesday at the age of 90.

Besides Yogi Bear, Yogi Berra was the only other person, or bear, I ever heard of with the name Yogi.

Yogi Berra Bear

Yogi Berra Bear

And, besides myself, able to speak what is now called “Yogi-isms.”

In my day ,when I would speak that, I was called stoopid……..go figure. Then again, I wasn’t a famous baseball player.

So today, I thought we’d take a look at some of the most memorable Yogi-isms and I’d add a few comments of my own.

So here we go:

(Yogi’s logic on life in quotes)
“If you don’t know where you are going, you might wind up someplace else.”yogi3

Obviously Yogi thought of this one because he, like myself, get up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom, but wind up someplace else, like the kitchen, then forget why the hell we’re there or where we were going. Which accounts for the reason most of us who get lost and wind up in the kitchen are slightly overweight. The refrigerator is there and it has a biggggg light beckoning us.

“You better cut the pizza in four pieces because I’m not hungry enough to eat six.”
Heyyyyyyy, what a great idea. Thanks Yogi.

“Love is the most important thing in the world, but baseball is pretty good, too”.
Especially on those nights when your other half has a headache and you’re (men) feeling frisky.

Game of baseball at 11pm anyone?

“I never said most of the things I said.”yogi4
This one is an absolute gem.  I’ve often claimed I never said most of the things I said too. Until my other half bought one of those high-tech mini tape recorders and now I have to listen to replays of things I claimed I never said played back from her device on my computer at the highest decibels possible. Sometimes new technology sucks.

“Baseball is ninety percent mental and the other half is physical.”

The physical part by the players……the mental part by the umpires. Because umpires are all mental cases if ya ask me.

“It ain’t over till it’s over.”yogi2

Yep, one of most the famous Yogi-isms. It ain’t over till it’s over, which basically means it’s never over till it’s over even if you think it’s over, which it may not be, but you really can’t be sure, until you look around and no one’s left so then it might be safe to assume that whatever it was that you were hoping was over may indeed be over….or not.

“You’ve got to be very careful if you don’t know where you are going, because you might not get there.”
Which most likely inspired the invention of those GPS systems.yogi6

“When you come to a fork in the road, take it.”
He obviously was talking about an actual fork. My guess anyhow.

“There are some people who, if they don’t already know, you can’t tell ’em.”
Yes folks….Yogi was married for many years so I KNOW where this one came from

“He hits from both sides of the plate. He’s amphibious.
I dunno Yogi…..sounds kinda fishy to me.yogi9
“I wish I had an answer to that because I’m tired of answering that question.”
Obviously in response to Mrs. Berra saying to Yogi, “Do I look fat in this dress?”

“A lot of guys go, ‘Hey, Yog, say a Yogi-ism.’ I tell ’em, ‘I don’t know any.’ They want me to make one up. I don’t make ’em up. I don’t even know when I say it. They’re the truth. And it is the truth. I don’t know.”
Remember that one guys. Whenever you put your foot in your mouth always use that Yogi-ism,

“Even Napoleon had his Watergate.”
Proof that the Watergate Hotel is as old as Napoleon.yogi5

Hope all that explains Yogi-isms for ya.

Just sayin, which I just did if you were paying attention.yogi8

DONATE & SUPPORT: You can donate to this inane blog for (cough) creative effort by clicking on the PayPal link below. People who do not click on the PayPal link do not donate. (kind of a Yogi-ism)

https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=QQST38XT3YK78

Copyright 2015 MisfitWisdom RLV

DILLIGARA Header: chickart@cox.net

 

About misfit120

Former disc jockey, (Dick Jones) 30 years, and author of, "I Could Have Been Famous But Sex, Love & Life Got In The Way" available at Amazon.com books, & Kindle, "The Covert Chamber" a mystery novel available at Amazon.com and Barnes & Noble, and "Forgotten" the story of two WWI pilots who were forgotten for over 70 years available on Amazon.com and Kindle
This entry was posted in current events humor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

