Caitlyn Jenner. Ok…so um……….

Um, do they have a surgery for that?

Um, do they have a surgery for that?

Many many eons ago, before dinosaurs roamed the Earth, and there were only three television channels to choose from, a young man named George William Jorgensen Jr., born on May 30, 1926, became the first person to have sex reassignment surgery.

This does NOT mean that instead of having surgery in one place you decided to have it reassigned to another place.

Sometimes ya have to make these things perfectly clear.

It means George wanted to be “reassigned” (as they said in those days) from being a male to a female.

I'm soooooo confused

I’m soooooo confused

After serving in the U.S. Army in 1945, he attended schools, worked at some various jobs, and eventually heard about a surgery that would change him from a man to a woman.

So George took a trip to Copenhagen, Denmark in 1951 and had the “reassignment” surgery and came out “reassigned” as Christine Jorgensen. The very first person to have that procedure done.

And, of course, it made the headlines, as in Bruce (now Caitlyn) Jenner’s case.jor1

MMM

Jorgensen died in 1989 at age 62

So for all of you who went (gasp) when Bruce had a similar “reassignment,” this was nothing new.

Christine went on to become an actress, nightclub entertainer and recording artist.

No, she did not record, “Two Faces Have I.”  That was Lou Christie you idiot.

Fast forward to 2015 when Bruce Jenner decided to also be “reassigned” and the Internet goes berserk. Both pro and con opinions.

Now I personally have no opinion either way. If  it was Jenner’s decision to be “reassigned” what the hell do I care. Or as my header sez, “DILLIGARA.”

mmmmm

Which may also explain why they’ve never found Jimmy Hoffa

BUT, that said. I DO feel a bit uneasy about picking up women in a bar since all this publicity about Bruce/Caitlyn Jenner.

Of course the first thing that came into my mind was “Lola” by the Kinks.

Yes, I know, the song is about a transvestite rather than a transgender. Whereas a transvestite is a person who likes to dress as a person of the opposite sex and a transgender is a person who actually transformed, via surgery, to the opposite sex.

Either way Victoria’s Secret gets to sell their stuff.

But, it still made me a bit uneasy thinking back to my younger days as a super stud. Like, could I have encountered this……………

Ok, well um, Happy New Year too and see ya...........

Ok, well um, Happy New Year too and see ya………..

Ok…ok…..I was never a super stud, but if I WERE a super stud back then, say like when George/Christine had that “reassignment” procedure, how would I have known about that stuff had I not read that newspaper story in the “Daily News.” After all, the World Wide Web was just a gleam in someone’s eye back then.

And me, being only 9 years old in 1951, at the time of Jorgensens’ “reassignment” I obviously would have been completely oblivious of that event. I was too involved with toy soldiers, little freckle faced girls in school, and freaking out over acne.

So, most likely, as I aged and got to the point where I could actually go into a bar, how would I have known that transgenders existed.  Um, even transvestites for that matter.

If ya mentioned the word “transvestite” to me I probably would have thought it was some guy transporting something while wearing a vest. And “transgender,” cripes I would have thought it meant a male or a female could apply for a job in the transportation industry. Duh!

So my point here is I could have very well been involved in a “Lola” incident myself.

And which also raises the question……………..trans7Along with yet another thought……………….

mmmmm

Coffee break perhaps………….

Fast forward once again, to today. I can just imagine guys in a bar somewhere, thinking to themselves, after reading this blog, and reading about Jenner’s “reassignment,”  “Holy reassignment Batman, if I hit on some chick in a bar, (to quote an old Rascals song,) “How Can I Be Sure?”

It’s not like you can ask for a set of credentials. Or the babe you’re hitting on is wearing a name tag that sez, “Hi my name’s Harriet….formally Harry.”

This might solve the problem

This might solve the problem

Thankfully, because I’m waaaaay beyond EVER hitting on anything breathing, I do not have to worry about that.

But boy, would I be paranoid in this day and age if I were still out there and trolling the bar scene.

Hmmmmmmm. (thinking)

On second thought, at my age, (dinosaur) maybe I shouldn’t be so picky.

Jenner, um, scuse me, Caitlyn does look kinda hot.

Caitlyn Jenner

Caitlyn Jenner

And, recalling that old Ben Franklin quote:

“All cats are grey in the dark.”

Just sayin.

DONATE & SUPPORT: The MisfitWisdom PayPal donate link: (Copy & Paste the link to make a donation for creative effort. https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=QQST38XT3YK78

Copyright 2015 MisfitWisdom RLV

DILLIGARA Header: chickart@cox.net

 

About misfit120

Former disc jockey, (Dick Jones) 30 years, and author of, "I Could Have Been Famous But Sex, Love & Life Got In The Way" available at Amazon.com books, & Kindle, "The Covert Chamber" a mystery novel available at Amazon.com and Barnes & Noble, and "Forgotten" the story of two WWI pilots who were forgotten for over 70 years available on Amazon.com and Kindle
This entry was posted in current events humor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Caitlyn Jenner. Ok…so um……….

  1. katydidknot says:

    Leave it to the transgenders to ruin the otherwise perfectly inocuous experience of going to a bar, getting tanked, and having casual sex with a stranger!

    • misfit120 says:

      Yeah! Thank Gawd I’m beyond that, (age wise) Katy. Otherwise I’d be demanding Congress pass a law that states all transgenders have to wear tattoos that say, “remanufactured.”

Leave a Reply

